Clear all

Can you ID this guitar, if possible?

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@starbucks)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

As you now know, I'm just starting out learning to play.

However, I'm one of those people who needs to know as much as possible as fast as possible. So naturally, one of the first things I'm doing is researching all about the different types of guitar, strings, picks etc.

I'm wondering if anyone here knows anything about the guitar I bought as my starter.

Here's what I know:

The name on the guitar is 'Madera', it was brand new when I bought it (still had the cellophane on the pick guard), pretty cheap (only paid $80), and the model number on the inside is: LD41/RB

Here's a few pics:

Right now I can't seem to find any info online about this manufacturer or brand, which leads me to believe that it must be some type of one-off or knock-off brand. I mean, it sounds pretty decent to me, but without having any experience to compare it to, it's hard know for sure.

Anyone have any comments?

Thanks!

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Well, yeah, just a comment, or comments? :D

It seems very, very nice, and an excellent value. I totally believe that it sounds and plays good.

That's probably a version of, or re-badging of your basic Johnson, with a unique pick guard and bridge shape, and some form of extra-decorative headstock. I would put Montana and Beaver Creek in the same family, depending on time period, where you live, and what is available to your retailers, suppliers, sometimes giant Catalogue or Big Box stores. Silvertone, and formerly Regal brand kind of fits in there too. Possibly Yamaha's Eterna marque as well. They tend to come off the same production line, with subtle differences, certainly with different tampo graphic names, and stickers.

Here's a pic of the current Johnson's at one outlet; I've seen newer fancier ones as well, trying to look more like Martin.