Clear all

Changing Between Chords

12 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 cagy
(@cagy)
Topic starter  

Hey all i'm a newbie and have extreme problems switching between chords!! i sorta find it hard getting my fingers on to the right strings etc... Can anyone help me????

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

This is just a practice issue. You just have to develop the muscle memory to get onto those strings fast.

Lots of folks never really learn how to practice this however.

Start with just 2 chords. Put your fingers on the first chord nad strum 4 down beats, nice and slow. Now change to the second chord, again strum 4 to the bar, nice and slow.

Now switch back to the first chord. Try to do it in time so that you don't have to pause before the next down-beat.

4 to the bar and back to the second chord.

Start very very very slow. The idea is that you can do it in time.

After about 30 or 40 repititions, you'll be doing this at a nice easy pace of like 40 beats per minute or so.

Now, start speeding up. use a metronome and move yourself up to 60 bpm, then 80, then 120 ... go in increments of 2 or 4 bpm and don't go on to a new chord or faster until you can do this at a good pace.

it's hard work. But if you work on it, you can have a couple of dozen chords under your belt in only a few days.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@dave-t)
Reputable Member

Very good advice, be patient, don't learn the wrong way and have to undo your bad habits.

Don't, like I did, lead your chord change by planting the dominant finger, usually the index, then following with the rest. It may sound a little "cosmic", but picture the shape your hand is going to form for the next chord as you are coming up to the change. Then move the fingers all at the same time.