Clear all

Chord changes

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@rodders)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 30 months now and quite often when practicing I will just run off chord progessions to see what I can come up with. Now one thing I have noticed is how wonderful the change from A to C#m sounds. They really fit together well and yet there seems to be a complete change of character within the music. Yes I know I should know why, but I am ashamed to say I have neglected the theory side of things. Another one I cant seem to stop going through is C to Bb to F and I always go this route if changing from C to F as the Bb seems to help the C into F almost as if it trips in there, if you get my drift.
Can anyone tell me why these work so well together and are there any changes that you favour above all others.

Be excellent to each other & party on dudes!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=686668

(@slydog)
Reputable Member

Disclaimer - I'm no theory guru.

In the first cased C#m is in the key of A, which is why it works and the switch from a major chord to a minor chord accounts for the mood change.

In the second case, if in the key of G, going from G-C-Bb-F, you are using a IV of IV of IV when you play the Bb, which actually works pretty well, as does the IV of IV. Thus in this case you are playing:

I, then IV, then IV of IV of IV (Bb if the IV of F, which is the IV of C, which is the IV of G), then the IV of IV (F is the IV of C, which is the IV of G).

Make sense? If so, then I'm really scared.

Also, anyone else who knows better, please chime in and correct me.

Blame it on the lies that killed us, blame it on the truth that ran us down.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

The two chords sound so well together because they're almost the same:

A major = A-C#-E
C# minor = C#-E-G#

When two chords share two of the same notes, the transition between them is going to sound very smooth.