Notifications
Clear all

Classic Jimmy Page sound. Help plz.

19 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@zeppelin68)
Topic starter  

Hi, as you can see this is my first post on this message board, however I do plan to revisit, it seems nice. Now, I am also a newbie to guitar, I have been playing about 5 months, just picking around, you know. Anyhow, I do not have a lot of equipment built up so far. This is what I have. A Marshall MG10cd 40 watt amp, and a cheap Ibanez electric guitar. It is a nice guitar despite the price, I do not know the model. What I am trying to figure out is what items I could invest in in the future, or how I may use what I have to create a makeshift classic Jimmy Page sound. Sort of like used in the solo during 'Heartbreaker', or for his heavy riffs, such as the main riff during 'The Ocean'. If you can help, please, it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

(@alangreen)

Hiya, and welcome to GN.

From this month's Total Guitar magazine, Jimmy's setup is listed as a Fender Tele with a small Supro valve amp. The dial-in for the amp is to lower the bass, keep the mids high, boosting the treble and lowering the gain for humbuckers, or upping the gain and reducing the treble for singlecoils. You should be able to get very close to that sound using your Marshall. Use the bridge pickup only for extra bite.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@zeppelin68)
Topic starter  

Tyvm for the advice. I will try that and see if i can get it. Yes my fav guitar player is Jimmy Page, and I know he uses a tele and a gibson les paul, but they're just so expensive, especially since i'm not even that good yet. Thanks so much though :P

ReplyQuote
(@bmancv-60)
Estimable Member

Hello!