Clear all

cleaning up my chords

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@moonshine)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 2 years and seem to notice that my chords don't really ring as clear as others who play guitar. I hear a lot of excess string ringing in between chord changes and some other string noise that muddy up the songs I play. I know I'm fingering the chords correctly as they should nice & clear when I strum a chord (even my barre chords). It's just that when strumming them in a rhythm the clearness goes away.... best way I can describe it.

I know there are techniques like palm muting, but have no idea how to practice this or how to possibly begin working towards cleaner sounding chords. Don't even know if palm muting is used for this particular issue. Can anyone give tips/pointers about what you do and how I could incorporate this into practice?
Thanks a bunch!

(@blueline)
Noble Member

... I hear a lot of excess string ringing in between chord changes and some other string noise that muddy up the songs I play.

Sounds like you are hitting strings that are not part of the chord. For instance, when you play an open A - are you hitting the 6th string E? This would cause the chord to sound muddy or as you said, add other string noise. When I first started, often times I would practice a chord and tried to be very carefull to make sure I hit all of the correct strings. I then found myself hitting additional strings when trying to play the chords faster in a rhythm.
Are you using an excess of downstrokes or upstrokes? This may cause unwanted string noise as well.

Muting can be achieved in a few ways. You can mute strings by lightly touching them with your fretting hand. Using the example above, when I play an A, I will often mute the E string with my thumb by hooking it slightly over the neck of the guitar.