14 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
 EMT
(@emt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

C#m
is this a C, C minor or some variation of augmented or suspended or something. I can't find it in my book.

thanks

red meat doesn't kill you, fuzzy green meat does.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

C sharp minor - it's C minor played one fret higher

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@shake-your-bottom)

Use a bar chord. There is no open chord for C#m.

Bass Guitar String

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It's not true that there are no open chords - the pitches are C#, E, and G#. You could play xxx120, xx212x, xx2120, x421xx. x42120 or 042120. There are roughly 100 ways to play any given triad on the guitar, and most of them won't be in chord books.

ReplyQuote
 EMT
(@emt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

only been at this for a couple months. So I'm not really good at reading the tab numbers you listed. The sound I get is,,well , kinda flat. I suspect I'm doing it wrong.

ReplyQuote
(@mahal)
Estimable Member

Like power chords there is the open chord theory popular with Praise leaders from Paul Balouche's teaching. Instead of playing a C#m you would play x46600. Common chords played with C# would be A played x02200, B x 24400, F# played as 2x(or 4)2200 and E played as 079900 0r the first position 022100.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Instead of playing a C#m you would play x46600.

The open B string makes that a C#m7. Although that can substitute well for C#m, you do have to be a little careful adding notes to chords (particularly if you're part of an ensemble) - I'd go with x466x0 instead.

EMT, the numbers are the frets to play, listed in order from the lowest to highest - and in music, "lowest" always means lowest sounding, so that's actually the string closest to the ceiling :)

ReplyQuote
 EMT
(@emt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

thanks,