15 Users
0 Likes
 lars
(@lars)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

So - my daugther wants to learn the guitar :D
And - I turn out to be the worst teacher - ever :(

Busy and impatient, with extremely underdeveloped pedagogical skill + I've never had a teacher myself, so how would I know how to be one :?

But OK - she has this 1/2 size accoustic and we've started working on some open chords - she's been playing violin for some years so she's somewaht into fretting strings, but what should we work on? - D and A7 comes out OK, em is simple, G is difficult - what were the absolute beginners songs again.
I remeber when I started Tom Dooley was the first song - with D and A7 only. But what else? Looked briefely at Horse with no name, but I don't know the song, and I'm sure she doesn't either. The chords are easy enough tho' so maybe we should look at it after all.

I've always played a lot for her - Dylan, Tom Waits, Beatles etc, and I'm sure she would be happy to reconstruct something she knows, but my brain went totally blank when I started thinking about songs to try with her.

Therefore:
More suggestions for songs with few and easy chords - anyone?
What are the important things to work with? Am I rushing it starting out with chords, should we start with one-string finger exrecises? What about left hand - would tumb strumming suffice for the time being?
etc, etc.

I know I'm a bit lazy now - suppose there is more stuff in the beginners section, I will look for more there too

Just felt like sharing the good (and the bad) news - "I can hardly wait - to see her come of age"
Yes, Growing a band - there is a 6 years old kicking the stable door too :D

LaRS

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

there's eleanor rigby. that's pretty easy.