Notifications
Clear all

Crunchy Pickups

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter  

I have just read through the Humbuckers Interchangable thread, and I was wondering what sort of pickups I could buy that would give my sound more of a crunch. I'm a student therefore I have little money. This is what I currently have gear-wise:

MXR Wylde Overdrive Pedal (which I CANNOT get to sound good whatsoever)
Behringer Ultra Metal Pedal (I love this pedal...)
Dunlop Original CryBaby
Marshall MG15FX
Im not too sure about the current pickups as it is only a cheap guitar...

Im interested in playing rock/metal and i'd love to have a nice crunchy sound. Ive heard the EMG 81/60 are a good set for crunch and clean but I just cannot afford this. Does anybody know of a cheaper alternative for a nice crunch and a nice clean sound?

Or is it that my problem lies with my amp?

I asked in my local music shop and they suggested the MXR O-D pedal ( i think)

So what do you guys think?

Thanks in advance :D

(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

Well, you got a couple different directions you can go. So many variables, as I think you're discovering. I'm not sure how much crunch an 8-inch speaker can deliver...as far as window shaking thud crunch type of thing. I assume I interpretted your term of "crunch" properly. I'm not trying to be wise or dis your gear or anything, I just don't know.