Clear all

Direction

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@welshman)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi again guys ... I'm after more advice.

I've been playing acoustic guitar regularly now for a couple of years and can competently play a number of chords (not sure how many but I would guess 20-40). On top of that I have spent the last few months practicing scales and although I would not describe myself as good - I do see significant improvement.

Now as some of you may know from previous posts I am a keen English folk music fan but the trouble is that most folk song assumes that the person singing has a decent voice. I on the other hand sound like Kermit after a bad case of tonsilitis. Indeed it is a victory if in any one song I am not flat on a single note! Consequently accompanying myself on the guitar is neither fun nor a pleasure. Unfortunately the option of playing jigs, reels etc is largely out of the question as they require a) pretty fast chord changes and I am not that fast; and b) a decent understanding of DADGAD (or other tunings) and I want to get my head round the intricacies of standard tuning before I go forward.

In an effort to resolve my problem of what to do if you can't sing for toffee I started to learn fingerpicking which has been great fun and a huge challenge (I can now do a passable Greensleeves, House of the Rising Sun a few little riffs and a mediocre Spancill Hill) however my progress is appallingly slow and I seem to need to practice every night for weeks before I can get the basics of even one song.

Am I pushing myself too hard (I am 54 and desperate to become a competent leisure guitarist so I practice for 2+ hours every night and more on the weekends)? Should I concentrate on one aspect of the guitar at a time (say scales)? Ought I develop a larger vocabulary of chords before I go fingerpicking? Should I leave DADGAD alone for the time being? Oh and while I am about it does anyone know the meaning of life .... :-)