Clear all

discouraging fathers.

54 Posts
25 Users
0 Likes
(@maisie)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Well, we were the shop yesterday, (I bought my very first acoustic :mrgreen:) and my dad was like "show me what you can do.
and I just looked at him and played a simple G, and he was like "is that it? i thought you would of learnt something by now."
Anyway, so we bought the guitar and left, and I was really angry because I'm the one trying here, I'm really enjoying it and it makes me happy, so he should be happy too.
So, I was really mad and started shouting at him. Its like he wants me to quit just so he's right. And he was like, "You have to keep persevering." I was like, "Yeah dad, I've been persevering for the last 14 years, what makes you think I'm gonna stop now."

UGH! he makes me so mad! All I ever asked of him was a little encouragement!

What should I do?

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Congratulations on the acoustic. I think you've answered your question: you said playing makes you really happy. You've got to play for yourself and because you enjoy it. That's the key to success. Keep playing, keep having fun, and let the rest sort itself out.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

What would I suggest?

Learn to play something - anything from our own Easy Songs Database is an excellent start.

Then write something - there are loads of ideas for themes/ titles in the Assignment threads over in the Sunday Songwriters Group here. Post the lyrics, everybody says how good they are or gives you ideas for changes, and then play some chords to sing the words over and Hey Presto! you're an artist.