Clear all

do pick ups really make a differene

26 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i have very cheap pickups in my guitar - i dont know the make, but they are cheap, and as a result my tone is pretty poor. however, a friend at work brought a little red pod (which mimicks different amps and sounds), and my guitar sounded awesome through it - better than i could ever have imagined.
so my question is this - is it better to invest in decent pickups, or just to buy one of these clever pod devices (i dont know what their name is but im sure a lot of people here will). also, how important is the amp. i have a peavey valveking 212- i'd like to think i dont need to shell out for anything more expensive??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

lol, everything's important.

the little red pod is a Line 6 Pod (one of the variants, dunno what model number they're up to these days) and yup its an amp simulator. Line 6 are pretty good at this and are the dominant name in that area of business, at least as far as brand-awareness goes (not sure about sales). They're good, but generally better, imho, for recording than gigging situations.

the Peavey will be more than adequate, until you get GAS again, anyway. :wink:

the pickups you use will make a big difference to overall sound, no matter what else is going on. so its worth looking at upgrading at some point, irrespective of whether or not you get a pod.