Notifications
Clear all

Don't do that!

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@fourth-musketeer)
Topic starter  

I'm just getting started. I have a few chords under my fingers and have played through "A Horse With No Name". I have several good resources for looking up chord fingerings, but I bumped into an unexpected piece of "advice from the voice of experience."

I was watching one of Arlen Roth's beginner level videos over on http://gibson.com when he mentioned a very common beginner bad habit that should be avoided or broken. He was referring to the fingering on the open G Major chord.

He very strongly discouraged getting used to the standard fingering that is recommended by almost all chord charts, beginner books and most instructors (1-2-3). Instead, he said to use (2-3-4). His reasoning was that the 1-2-3 fingering sort of "boxes you into a corner" and locks up your fingers, making chord changes and embellishments much more difficult than necessary. Whereas the 2-3-4 fingering frees up your index finger and generates a chord shape that can be shifted to and from much more easily.

I had already started getting used to the 1-2-3, but I liked his reasoning and realized the benefits of relearning the chord with 2-3-4. I know this is only the recommended "common" fingering, and that as I progress I will likely use different fingerings depending up on which chords I'm coming from or going to next. However, I am planning on doing a lot of self-paced learning and I would love to avoid starting any bad chord fingering habits.

So this whole thing got me to thinking...

Are there any other chords that a beginner should consider fingering differently than most reference material recommends?

(@alangreen)

I recommend doing the same exercise with the E and A chord families, keeping your index finger free to do something else. When you come to start working with movable shapes and barre chords you'll need to use your index finger for something other than just fingering the chord.