Skip to content
Notifications
Clear all

Dry hands

22 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)

My hands get so dry that the edges of my callouses will catch on the strings sometimes. :?

That's what happened so I just put the guitar down for the night. I awoke the next morning to see my callous flaking away which inspired this thread.

ReplyQuote
 mmdm
(@mmdm)
Estimable Member

My hands get so dry that they hurt and my callouses actually start to peel off sometimes. I've been putting lotion on my hands at night, just before bed, and that helps. It doesn't seem to make the callouses softer, but it does keep them from peeling off and keeps my hands from cracking and hurting. I've tried lots of different kinds and some seem to even make my hands drier. I like the Eucerin, too.

I'm a newbie at the guitar, but I already had the callouses from the mandolin. Mando strings are very hard on the fingers. Playing guitar is almost like petting a kitten after those mando strings. Good for building callouses, though. I've been a little worried that I might lose the callouses since I've been spending so much time on the guitar and not much on the mandolin lately. Doesn't sound like that is going to be a problem after all, though.

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Moisturize everytime you wash your hands or have your hands exposed to extreme weather for any period of time.

It really really helps.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

I have always had extremely dry hands. My hands actually get a white dusty look to them. In the winter my fingertips tend to split which is very painful. I am one of those people who has to touch my fingertips to my lips or tongue to flip a page in a book or pick up a piece of paper.