Clear all

effect pedals...

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@jbswish57)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok so... I'm totally new to the guitar and I was wondering... what exactly do effect pedals do? :D

(@redneckrocker)
Estimable Member

They alter the sound of the guitar. Different pedals do very different things. Compressors even out the volume so everything sounds the same volume. Distortion pedals add distortion giving you a hard rock sound. Delay will make the notes you play echo a few times. There are probably a hundred different types of pedals that all do different things.

Somebody else will probably give you a better worded answer than that, I'm afraid I'm not terribly good at wording things.

~Mike the Redneck Rocker.

"The only two things in life that make it worth living are guitars that tune good and firm feeling women" - Waylon

ReplyQuote
(@jbswish57)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks again Mike! You're advice has been pretty helpful!

ReplyQuote
(@redneckrocker)
Estimable Member

No problem man, everybody here is helpful. That's why this is my favorite guitar forum. I couldn't tell the number of times people has helped me on here, whether it be with questions I've asked or just reading other people's questions.

~Mike the Redneck Rocker.

"The only two things in life that make it worth living are guitars that tune good and firm feeling women" - Waylon

ReplyQuote
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member

Probably the best way to find out about all of the effects and how they sound is to buy a muti-effects pedal and experiment wit different settings. I have one of the Digitech pedals, and I just took eack individual effect that is available, one at a time, and stored them in individuasl settings. That way I can scroll among them and see what each sounds like.

Regards,

Mike

"Growing Older But Not UP!"

ReplyQuote
(@vanzant38)
Reputable Member