Effective practicing

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@nathan080)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey there,
I'm a beginner player, I've only been playing since Christmas, but man... its been some of the best times of my life just sitting there playing a guitar! Needless to say, I'm really enjoying it. But I seem to have hit a bit of a problem, I am a poor student, so I really don't have enough money for regular lessons and so I've been learning off websites and from a couple of books. Although this is useful, I find that I lack a structured approach and now that I'm starting to learn about intermediate stuff, I'm getting a bit frustrated at myself cause I seem to have hit a wall.

Just to give you an idea of where I am, I've learned:

Where to identify all the notes on the fret board,
All the basic open major, minor and seventh chords (Seventh major and minor too),
The 'E' and 'A' barre chord shapes
The major and penatonic scales, and a blues scale,
A variation of strum patterns,
A handful of basic songs,
Ive written a couple of my own songs too,
A little about alternate tunings and use of a capo,
Some basic chord theory (major triads and such),
How to read music (of course I'm very slow lol)
A little about key signatures (how to identify them on a staff, circle of fifths etc) and time signatures,
A little about quality and quantity of intervals,

Thats about all i know... its funny, it seems like I've learned so much and yet nothing at all

I was just wondering if anyone has any book/DVD recommendations that they have learned from, or any advice whatsoever would be nice, as I said I really can't afford lessons at the moment, BUT i do have a lot of time on my hands, would really like to know how to make the best of it :).

Thanks in advanced.

Nath

From Your Influence...
http://www.overplay.com/BandProfile.aspx?BandId=e78b497f-4f31-4182-8659-e8b6fa91d582

http://www.youtube.com/user/FromYourInfluence

(@denny)
Reputable Member