Clear all

Electric guitar excessive finger noise

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@welchsboy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Well I've been playing the guitar for about 2 months, recently I've started playing songs requiring high distortion, and I noticed when I lift my finger off of a string it creates a lot of noise, almost like I would be doing a pull-off, only it's not a pull-off...all I'd do is lift my finger off the string to play a note on another string.

I fiddled around a bit with it, even when I lift my finger off slowly it still makes noise, could it be a problem with my amp or that I set the gain way too high? Or maybe my fingers are naturally sticky or something...this problem isn't as noticeable if I turn the volume down and play clean notes, or if I only stick to a single string, but then the song doesn't sound right.

(@nexion)
Honorable Member

Any vibration creates noise, when you lift your finger you are causing the string to vibrate. Use one of your hands to mute the string quickly and move to the next note.

"That’s what takes place when a song is written: You see something that isn’t there. Then you use your instrument to find it."
- John Frusciante

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

And a distortion pedal picks up every little sound.

You should also try to make sure your fingers come "up" when you release a note, rather than just "off"

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@mrjonesey)
Honorable Member