Epidermally Challenged?

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@martha)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey :D

I was wondering if you guys know of anybody who is intrinsically unable to form callouses. :? Because I'm starting to think that this may be my case. :(

I've been doing martial arts for a few years, and I've never been able to form the helpful foot-callouses everyone else develops within a month or two. (Which means that every day I still leave bits of my soles on the Dojo floor.)

I thought that was just a foot thing...

But now I'm thinking that I might have the same problem with my fingers - instead of callousing, every three or four days the skin on the tips of my fingers just suddenly peels off, exposing soft skin.

Could I be physically unable to callous-up? Callous impaired? Epidermally challenged?

Quiquid latine dictum sit altum viditur.

(Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.)

(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

This may be just an urban legend, but it is said that Clapton had difficulties maintaining callouses as well. In fact, I think I remember reading some comments here recently.

Sorry, nothing helpful to offer.

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.
There's a man in the line and she's blowin' his mind, thinking that he's already made her."

'Coming into Los Angeles' - Arlo Guthrie

ReplyQuote
(@undercat)
Prominent Member

Even playing guitar a lot, I don't really build up callouses. Not sure if I don't play hard enough or what. I remember when I started my fingers hurt, and now they don't, but I don't seem to have any hard spots on my finger tips.

I know that I'm fully capable of building callouses too, because when I play drums I get callouses galore, and when I play bass I get callouses on my "picking" hand (fingering hand?) from popping.

So that's my take, maybe it's just that guitar isn't enough to callous you.