Clear all

F Major

18 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@dave-t)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

So I'm finally taking on the F Major. This is using the index to barre the B & e string at fret 1, middle and ring on D and G strings respectively. I have lots of experience switching between open chords cleanly and usually land all fingers pretty close to simultaneously.

The challenge with the F Major is I can land the barre or D and G fretting no problem, but putting them down simultaneously is real tough. I think this is because the index ( dropping to a barre), thumb (moving to a position from back of neck to pointing towards headstock) and other fingers are doing such different things.

Any tips on how to practice this? Thanks.

(@minotaur)
Noble Member

I saw a tip somewhere about forming the E shape first, with the 3rd, 4th and 5th fingers, then making the barre with the first finger. I'm trying to remember to do that. At the worst if you can't make the full barre, you can lay your index finger on the first and second strings at the first fret and make a small F.

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

yeah, the small F chord with index on first two strings works. just through the thumb over the top of the neck and fret the low strings.
most times I like the sound of a full F major barre chord. having the thumb point to the headstock is one important aspect.
as for speed of forming the chord...I know of no secrets.
just time and practice..itll happen before you know it.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

. . . forming the E shape first, with the 3rd, 4th and 5th fingers, then making the barre with the first finger.
You mean the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th fingers.
Most people have only 4 fingers . . . and a thumb. :mrgreen: