Clear all

Fender Neck Width Vs Other Brands Help

15 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
16.9 K Views
(@punkrocker)
Topic starter  

I'm fairly new to the guitar and have been playing for a while learning songs by tablature. I own a Fender Squier Affinity Strat guitar and the neck on it is extremely narrow. A couple of my fingers are slightly large where this guitar is not comfortable to play. My brother owns a Schecter Diamond Series guitar and I can play that guitar like butter. It has a wider neck and it's very comfortable to play. I still like the Fender sound better though.

So here is my question...

Does Fender Stratocaster guitars have wider necks than the Squier Affinity Strat guitar or are Fender necks more narrow anyways? Would I be better off investing in a Les Paul or would a Stratocaster have that wider neck I'm looking for?

Thanks!

(@s1120)
Prominent Member

I'm fairly new to the guitar and have been playing for a while learning songs by tablature. I own a Fender Squier Affinity Strat guitar and the neck on it is extremely narrow. A couple of my fingers are slightly large where this guitar is not comfortable to play. My brother owns a Schecter Diamond Series guitar and I can play that guitar like butter. It has a wider neck and it's very comfortable to play. I still like the Fender sound better though.

So here is my question...

Does Fender Stratocaster guitars have wider necks than the Squier Affinity Strat guitar or are Fender necks more narrow anyways? Would I be better off investing in a Les Paul or would a Stratocaster have that wider neck I'm looking for?

Thanks!

Some fenders have wider flater necks.. But your more likly to find one on a LP. Shop around, and play some guitars. Im sure you can find one that fits you a bit better.

Paul B

ReplyQuote
(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

Personally, I hate Fender necks (others love them).