'Fight or Flight' question about volume knob

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@kopfschmerzen)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone!

I learn to play an electric guitar for a 4th month. I study with a teacher who's a heavy metal guy and concentrated on a powerful and fast playing (although my preferred style is hard rock/blues). Before going any further, he wants me to master a 'right' position of the right hand. I understand that, but... He asks me to put my wrist on strings near a bridge, so I could mute all 6 strings at once. Then I should turn the wrist a bit to reach strings with a pick. That's OK, but my pinkie moves against that volume knob on the guitar. If I lift the pinkie upper, I cannot mute 1st string, and so I cannot play scales on all strings evenly. The problem is that I've stuck with it for a 2nd month and do not go further! My teacher suggests to remove the volume knob, but I don't think it's a good idea, because being a newbie I should learn to play a standard guitar. What if I come to a friend and cannot play because his guitar is not customized? :roll: I'm really confused. I see following options:

1. Fight with the instrument until I master that thing, even if it takes me a year
2. Customize the guitar. Not a good way for me, as I will need to relearn in future
3. Flight from that teacher to another one with different hand position paradigm
4. Something I didn't think of

The funny thing is that the teacher himself does play my guitar fast and clean.
What's your advise for me? I do want to play what I want! But how??

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Option number one--keep at it until you've learned to do it. I wouldn't "customize" the guitar. But you ought to be able to work on other skills and techniques while you continue to learn palm muting.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member