Clear all

Finally Taken The Step!!

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@leefrost28)
Topic starter  

Hello All....

Have finally bought myself an electric guitar after years of telling myself I couldnt do it. I am so excited about the prospect of learning and would like advice regarding where is best to start. I am under no illusion that I will be banging out Knopfler solos within a week, I am in this for the long haul and would really appreciate any tips.

Thanks in advance

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Congratulations! You're about to begin a great adventure.

You might start with the Absolute Beginner Lessons on this site.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Good for you! There's no such word as "can't" - only CAN, and WILL! Years ago, I used to think, "I'll never be able to play like that......" - well OK, I still can't rip out lightning fast solos, but my rhythm playing's improved a hell of a lot, and the more I play, the more it keeps getting better.

Determination, and the will to overcome obstacles, is half the battle - you'll be looking back in a year or so and wondering why you ever thought barre chords were hard, or why the heck you couldn't play such-and-such a riff....it all takes time. Time, hard work, and determination....if you've got them, you WILL succeed!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

Best of luck on your new found journey! I am sure you will have a lifetime of fun with your new friend!

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@liontable)
Estimable Member

Hi there! Nice to see you decided to finally go through with it. I'll just share a few things that I find are important.