Notifications
Clear all

Finger care

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@frankb)
Topic starter  

Has anyone addressed the problem facing new students about the care for the finger tips? I know callouses have to be developed but grooves also develop when practicing for extended periods of time. And finger tips flatten making it hard to keep from muting adjacent strings. Any suggestions? I work in construction so I don't have soft hands.

(@kroikey)
Reputable Member

Well I think you'll have an advantage since you don't have soft hands. I dont really think it matters much one way or another, just make sure you don't pick off any callouses that form. Tips do flatten slightly, but more right on the callous, which helps with the tone of your playing (in my opinion). Practice will stop you from muting adjacent strings, and only practice really. The indented lines you get from practice should help you get back in position quicker, as long as you practiced slowly and correctly.. you did practic slowly and correctly didn't you? :)

ReplyQuote
(@azgirl)

I have a similar problem...with finger "grooves". For example, when going from E to A, my index finger slides from the first fret to the second on the third string, then when trying to make an A chord, that string doesn't really sound because I can't push it hard enough. It seems to be the groove in my finger preventing that. It's a bit of a weird problem, I know, but if anyone has any suggestions...

ReplyQuote
(@acousticfish)
Trusted Member

I have a similar problem...with finger "grooves". For example, when going from E to A, my index finger slides from the first fret to the second on the third string, then when trying to make an A chord, that string doesn't really sound because I can't push it hard enough. It seems to be the groove in my finger preventing that. It's a bit of a weird problem, I know, but if anyone has any suggestions...