Clear all

finger dexterity

17 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 db1
(@db1)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone...im having some problems with bulding my finger dexterity. i've been playing guitar for abut 2 months, know all the open chords but have some trouble switching chords...for ex, i find it hard placing my 3rd finger on the 5th string 3rd fret on the C chords. once i have my other fingers down, my 3rd finger tends to move away from the 3rd fret and i get the buzzing sound on the string. does anyone have any good exercises to work on my finger dexterity and strength?
thanks
daniel

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

i had exactly that problem with the c chord, but it does just come. Practice slowly and delibedrately and this will build muscle strength as well as dexterity. this also goes for picking scales. be sure to be slow and deliberate. i was 26 when i started playing with no other musical experience, but my fingers now span as many frets as is ever required (by me anyway). i am not a good gutiar player, but i have seen this method of practice seriously transform the strength and suppleness of my hand.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
 db1
(@db1)
Topic starter  

yeah i also have a problem with fretting the strings with my fingers at the same time, instead of putting one finger down, then the next, then the next etc. i try to do my best but its tough to remember. im doing the chromatic scales and the spider exercise i found online to build dexterity but any other suggestions would be appreciated (and any good exercises to learn how to change chords faster too would be awesome)

ReplyQuote
(@adrianjmartin)
Estimable Member

ReplyQuote
(@denny)
Reputable Member