Clear all

Finger picking style

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@steve-saunders)
Topic starter  

Hi all,

Im not sure if this is a daft question or not, but its been bugging me, so help wouldbe appreciated :-)

Bit of background - Ive been playing the guitar for 20 years, and have spent many a happy hour entertaining in bars and on the beach as well as busking - but my downside is, ive been self taught with very little exposure to other players.

Now Im trying to refine my playing and have gone back to the drawing board so the speak - even buying lots of 'books' and surfing the net for articles etc - and boy, have I been doing a lot of things wrong!

But, to get to the point of this quesiton - I have a concern over my finger picking.

Everything that Ive read talks about how you can use your thumb and then fingers to pick the notes of a chord etc - so taking Am as an example, you'd probably play a bass 'open' A note with your thumb, then the D# with your 1st finger, G# with the 2nd and finaly C with your third. (the notes dont always follow this exact path, but lets keep it simple at this stage)

Ok, that seems clear enough - but when I finger pick an Am, Im off from this on two accounts:

1) Being self taught, I missed the idea of 'fingers' and pick only with my thumb and 1st finger (the rest take a tea break!)
2) When picking chords, I tend to play the base note with my thumb, and then follow up the strings from the top note to lowest - the opposite to what I see in guitar books

EG - on the Am, I play A followed by (top) E, C and then G# (or sometimes I skip the E, and go C, G#, D# for a more sombre sound)

Ive never seen this in any of my books etc so must assume that im making a great mistake - the only problem is, if Im so wrong - why does it sound ok?

I play a lot of folk and classic finger pick stuff, and ive played it like this for years - am I alone or is this a classic error?