Clear all

Fingerpicking patterns etc.

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@blackadder89)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for a few months now, and am fairly proficient at chord changes, strum patterns and the like, but didn't try out any fingerpicking until recently. I've realised it's much harder to self-teach, and so was wondering if anyone could direct me to any good fingerpicking tutorials...preferably for folk-type music.

Thanks.

Kr1s
(@kr1s)
Trusted Member

I'm not sure as to the exact location but I am pretty confident there will be an article on the site somewere just do a search for 'finger picking' somethings bound to come up.

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Here is a GN fingerpicking lesson on "The House of The Rising Sun", and the following are links to other fingerpicking tutorials.....

http://www.alanhorvath.com/LSN4.php

http://members.tripod.com/badseed_08/tutorials/fingerpicking.html

http://guitar.about.com/b/a/249070.htm

http://www.ezfolk.com/guitar/Tutorials/tutorials.html

Those should get you started in the right direction!

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

As much time as you put into your chord changes should be about the same for how much time/focus you put into your picking hand.

Just like you map out your chord changes, you do the same for your picking. There's more than one way to do a lot of things but, it comes down to what is easiest to you. Like everything, take your time, relax and start slow. Once you get what finger goes where, slowly increase the speed.