Notifications
Clear all

Fingers, ouchies. . .

13 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@white)
Topic starter  

I am pretty new to playing guitar. I have been messing around since I was young with my bros guitar. Well, now that I have been getting more serious I noticed that my finger tips get lines from the strings on them and they burn, and it stops me from practicing. Does anyone have any tips on getting through this stage in guitar playing?

(@olive)
Estimable Member

Just take a few breaks while you are practicing. Play until your fingers just can't take it anymore and then take a break. When the fingers are feeling a little better, start playing again. Eventually you will build calluses on your fingertips. You will find that you can play for longer and longer periods of time without needing a break.

"My ex-boyfriend can't tell me I've sold out, because he's in a cult, and he's not allowed to talk to me." --Dar Williams

ReplyQuote
 Narn
(@narn)
Estimable Member

Time and practice.

Don't pick at the callouses as they develop . It's a little strange at first when you don't have much sensation in you fingertips, but that goes away when you get used to it. In the beginning tough there's a fair bit of discomfort.

BTW welcome aboard. Never hesitate to ask any question you have. There are good people here.

"You want WHAT on the *&%#ing ceiling?" - Michelangelo, 1566

ReplyQuote
(@white)
Topic starter  

Well thanks guys your a big help,

This place isn't like other forums were they tell you to go help yourself. I don't want to be the type of person that just posts one guestion and never comes back to the forums but I don't know enough to answer anyones guestion. But when I learn I'll be back :wink:

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Well thanks guys your a big help,