Clear all

Fingerstyle?

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@agooner14)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

i have been using GN for a couple of months now so ive decided to join the forum! Everyone on the forum seems really helpful and I have found it extremely useful.

Ive been playing acoustic guitar for maybe 6 months and am so glad i started. I used to play piano for a long time but im am enjoying guitar so much more, wish i had started earlier. I really enjoy practicing playing guitar unlike with piano.

I have been working on my strumming technique and feel quite comfortable with it now, it is just how I imagined playing guitar would be. I just wanted to ask whether i should also work on fingerstyle, i have tried it briefly but find it really hard. Is fingerstyle really that useful, im not really interested in playing an classical type music. Do some people do one or the other, or is it better to be able to do both if you want to be a good rounded player? Any input would be great,

Alex

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

Yes, fingerpicking is great fun and very useful for a wide variety of music.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

And it is better to do both if you want to be a well rounded player. And it is best if you learn to fingerpick as early as possible, although I recall how perplexingly difficult it was to learn myself, so you're not alone. But mates of mine who didn't learn fingerpicking until later never seem quite as comfortable with it as I do (and I'm not the world's greatest fingerpicker or anything).