Clear all

first day of lessons!!

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@vik_tor115)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I am a new poster on these forums but have been reading the threads for several months now. I just started lessons last Wednesday with a private instructor(I am a beginner, but can count rhthym) and would like some feedback on my plan for learning guitar.

First of all, I pay $60/hr and am planning on getting lessons biweekly(so about $120/mo). I know it's somewhat expensive but everyone here around the Berkeley, CA area is the same price just about. I just singled out this instructor out because he actually teaches guitar at the university.
So for my first lesson, he taught me proper form on the guitar as to reduce the amount of strain on my shoulders and wrists. And for the bulk of the lesson, he taught me the first 3 notes on the first 3 strings. When I see him in two weeks, I should be able to pick the notes on the first 3 strings in good rhthym in a song like Jingle Bells. Basically, his plan for me in the long run is to teach me to fingerpick and read music first, then go on to strumming chords and such. I have been able to practice everyday for atleast 30-60min so I can already feel myself getting better.

Any thoughts, comments, or advice?

Thanks,
vik_tor115

(@goodvichunting)
Reputable Member

With the info you have provided, it seems you are on the right track.
A competent teacher is mandatory if you plan to make the best guitarist out of yourself. The only advise I will give is to have patience.
You will come across many instances where you will feel as if you can't do anything correctly. That is when you need to stop, take a minute, clear your head, re-focus and get back to work.

All the best.

Latest addition: Cover of "Don't Panic" by Coldplay
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=502670

ReplyQuote
 300m
(@300m)
Reputable Member