Skip to content
First Jam Night - R...

Notifications
Clear all

First Jam Night - Relative Beginner Reports!

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@geoff-h)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

OK, thought I would provide a feedback on my first experience of a Jam night. I am still a relative beginner, having spent not many hours a week for the last few years with my beginner acoustic and 30watt Laney.

I can play a few songs from the GN Lessons, ‘Fields of Gold, ‘Losing My Religion' quite well, but have never performed them to anybody other than the Wife, and the wall!

I can strum along to a few ‘acoustic friendly' tunes, and can insert the odd fill (thank you GN for the lessons).

I know a couple of members of a local cover band who cover mostly 50's, 60's and 70's stuff. They encouraged me to come to their 2nd jam night held at a pub and ‘have a go'. They were great with encouragement and adamant that I would be ok.

Hitched a lift with the piano player and arrived early while the organiser was setting up. Introduced myself (and my modest playing level) and all were very friendly. After being assured that the first jam night only had a few players and even fewer in the audience, started setting up - quite confident I can do this.

It then began to get a bit busy! Several more guitar players and their (much larger) amps, each with a few mates for support. Space was a premium and I tucked my 30 watt at the back in readiness for what was becoming an anxious wait.

The organiser introduced the evening assuring that everyone would get a go and set off into the first 2-3 songs. I got a drink and sat in the audience and spoke to a guy tuning his guitar and another who it turned out was a drummer. Both were very friendly and hearing of my novice-like status, were supportive.