Clear all

First Steps To Writing Music?

13 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@hisnameismatt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys. I've been playing for maybe 7 months off and on and can play most of the basic chords (including some barre chords) and would like to start writing music. However, I don't know the proper way to begin. SHould I read about progressions or read something before I start to write music? Anyone have any tips or pointers before I start?

Thanks a lot

Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

You can definitly read about progressions and theory and all that.

OR

You can just start with a chord, and then play a chord after that. See how it sounds. Does it sound good? No? Try a different chord. Also, as you learn songs, you'll start to realize what chords go well together, what don't, what chords will create a happy sound when played after one another, what chords will sound sad....

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Your ear is your best friend sometimes.

And as you're putting chords together, imagine a melody that goes with the chords and see if you can hum it or sing it.

ReplyQuote
(@hisnameismatt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

thanks guys. I'm just afraid I might copy a song or something. Because a lot of progressions that sound good to me, are used in songs I know.

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Yo
You can just start with a chord, and then play a chord after that. See how it sounds. Does it sound good? No? Try a different chord. Also, as you learn songs, you'll start to realize what chords go well together, what don't, what chords will create a happy sound when played after one another, what chords will sound sad....

That pretty much nails it. 8)

There's something about discovering things for yourself that seems to be more rewarding. It also seems to 'stick' better than trying to memorise sets of guidelines. At least that's how it works for me. :)