Skip to content
Follower needs to l...

Notifications
Clear all

Follower needs to lead - leading songs (not lead guitar)

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@jkf_alone)
Topic starter  

Ive been playing for 11 years, can play along & sing to almost any song off the radio or in a jam on Bass, Mandolin, and Guitar. my problem is that i can only lead a few songs that i know by heart. most of the people i play with can lead many songs from memory and almost any song from a lead sheet. The style i tend to play is acoustic gospel, alt folk, country and my ideal would be to have a cache of 20 or so songs i can lead without a lead sheet, and to be able to comfortably lead off from a lead sheet most songs within that style. any advice on how i can achieve this goal ? also i have trouble with kickoffs and giving space between verses when i lead.

360.yahoo.com/jkf_alone

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

you have asked a million dollar question. experience will help. and studying a few songs.
I never play leads note for note. my intention is to but I always seem to drift and play what I hear inside.
sticklers would hate me. version players and I get along well.

so what is a lead sheet?
Tabs?

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@jkf_alone)
Topic starter  

Im not really talking about lead guitar though, its more leading a folk style jam (sing a long type) . for me leading a song is playing the rhythm, adding some melody notes to the chords & bass runs, and singing the bones. from there, thers can add texture , a harmony, a counter melody, a different rhythm texture or just singing the melody with me.

what Im looking for is advice on playing and singing a leadsheet with style as well as techniques for practicing songs to build my lexicon.