Notifications
Clear all

Fret Buzz (ON ALL FRETS) ***need HELP***

18 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@nate_0198)
Topic starter  

Ok so I got a guitar off ebay that was located in georgia. I live in ohio so the guitar obviously when through a climate change. So I read that this can usually cause adjustments to the trust rod. So I realized the truss rod was way too straight so I loosened that hoping it would fix the buzzing (EVERYWHERE). Its not just one single fret that is posing a problem. Well this didnt fix the problem. I am new to guitars, this is my first one and now I cant even stand to play it. I am so pissed and I have no Idea what to do. Could this possibly be the strings.

The guitar is in practicly new condition so going by this guide online it says too much fret wear. which doesnt make sense at all. I dont think the guitar neck is warped or bent I think i just need to make adjustments. Heres the guide I used.

http://www.fretnotguitarrepair.com/buzzing.htm

Maybe a little info will help. When you press down REALLY hard this eliminates the buzz. I am almost possitive that when you hold the 5th fret the 4th buzzes, when you hold the 12th then the 13th buzzes. I dont know if this helps diagnose the problem or not.

I would really love to get into the playing aspect of the instrument but this is so bad I dont want to play it. I am going to post some detailed pictures as well so maybe because I am a beginner I am overlooking something obvious. Even though I adjusted the truss rod I havent touched the bridge or string height yet. The action is kind of high since I adjusted the truss, but theres still alot of buzzzzz.

Is it possible that there is something wrong with the instrument. Or does it just need to be set up/ adjusted correctly. Or did I get ****ed because I bought off ebay.(returning it I would be out $70 on a $170 purchase, so I am not going to do that)