Clear all

Frustraited with my teacher

21 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@david-m1)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

This isn't my first post venting my frustration with my teacher, a couple months ago I was seriously considering looking for a new teacher, and I now find myself in the same situation again. I started playing guitar about 20 months ago, with weekly lessons for the past eight months. I do not seem to be progressing like I had hoped. I've learned a couple songs, a decent fingerpicked version of Dust in the wind, I very mediocre version of Blackbird, and some other lame song I cant even remember the name of. Most of what he has taught me are fingerpicked songs, we did work on Norweegin wood which is strummed. Part of my frustration is sometimes I think he goes to quickly and he seems all over the place not really tying things together. I'm learning some okay songs but everthing is fingerpicked, I would like to learn to just strumm a few tunes using a good strumming pattern, nothing fancy this seems like it would get a few songs under my belt. He will often teach a song and write nothing down or offer a printed copy to work from makes it difficult remembering everything we cover in the 30 minutes. The last two weeks have really been dispointing, the first week we talked about transposing songs from one key to the other, this subject is covered in the book he wrote and sold me in my very first lesson, this week we worked on Knowing learning the notes in a Major scale they are Major minor, minor, Major, Major, minor, deminished, major, this is covered in his book as well I can study this stuff at home, we also covered how to know which notes in a given scale are sharp. I know these are all good things to know but Ive probably spent a total of ten minutes out of the last two 30 minute lessons playing my guitar, I think I could study all this on my own time at home.