Clear all

Frustrated and lost interest in playing

16 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@just-a-learner)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,I'm a beginner player of about 2months.I've read most of the posts about strumming patterns but I still don't get it. I've been trying to get thru some 2 and 3 chord songs without it even sounding like what it should. My chord changes arn't clean yet, but to keep my spirits up to enhance my practice i'd like to sound at least a little of what the song should sound like. At this stage I'm frustrated and starting not to care.I know 4/4 time and 4 downstrokes per measure and all that, but the particular song does'nt come out like it should. I think I need help. :?:

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

What's the song that is troubling you?

The best thing to do is to really listen to the song. It wasn't until after I started playing guitar that I really started to hear music. Now, I can figure out most strumming patterns, hammer-on, pull-off, slide, bend, etc….. just by listening to each individual part.

Give it time, you're ear will develop.

ReplyQuote
(@just-a-learner)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I tried to get a handle on "country roads", "auld lang syne", "Kumbya".
Do you think I expect too much to early?

ReplyQuote
(@jetsolo)
Estimable Member

It took me about 6 months to fully get the main chords with some speed. At two months you are cutting it a bit close but hey, it's always good to try to challenge yourself early.

I suggest you try to fingerpick the same chord progressions you are doing so that you don't get as frustrated. This will also give you a better way to practice.