Clear all

Frustrated Today

41 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@theredd)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I must be enjoying my guitar, I plug in and next thing I know its 2 hours later . . .

Having said that, Im getting a little frustrated at how slow this is going. At least it seems slow to me; after two weeks Im still struggling to master some of the open chords. Maybe "master" isnt the right word; how about "play them correctly twice in a row"?

Ive been using David Hodge's lesson "Absolute Beginner Part 1: Chords". I can play the E, A, and D chords till the cows come home, and can change between them pretty confidently. C and G, on the other hand, are giving me fits. The best way I can describe my problems are this: any time I have to stretch across three or more strings, I cant arch my stubby little fingers enough to avoid muting strings.
For instance, when I play a G chord, I cant arch my middle finger enough when its on low E to avoid muting the A string, and still press down on high E with my pinkie to play it cleanly. When I play a C chord, my index finger mutes high A; when I adjust to stop that, my ring finger starts muting the D string.

I do realize this takes time, but I wonder if my hand positioning is causing some of the problems. First of all, my thumb wants to wander all over the place; sometimes its behind and parallel to the neck, other times it has moved so it is perpendicular, then it wants to hold the neck like a baseball bat. Its like my thumb has a mind of its own! :shock:

The second thing Ive noticed is, my left arm starts to hurt very quickly. Maybe Im tensing up too much? I've tried holding the guitar different ways (neck parallel to floor, neck up high like BB King) and it makes no difference.

I suspect the three issues are all related, and all a consequence of me being a n00b. Anyone have any suggestions on things I can try to work through this?

(@jackss565)
Reputable Member