Clear all

Getting fed up :-(

29 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@skiljfhn)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,
I've been learning guitar for about 18 months. Now I admit I don't practice as often as I should, about 1.5 hours a week in blocks of about 30 mins I would say. But whereas in the first 6 months I noticed a slight improvement I don't seem to have gotten any better over the last year. I still find it difficult to stretch my fingers along the fret board, my little and forefingers and still very weak (useless actually) and my picking is awful. I just can't get any rhythmn. Am I being impatient? Or should I really have made a little more progress by now and should I give up?

Sorry to sound pathetic but I really am getting fed up.

(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member

You might need some "hands on" instruction from a teacher. So look around and find one that can help you improove.

-Metaellihead

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Indeed, a teacher can do wonders. Also, try to squeeze in a few more minutes every day, it can only help. Finally: only give up playing guitar when youdon't enjoy playing any more. It is no race, and how fast you progress really shouldn't matter. Just keep on playing, have fun, and when you look back in 40 years you will see the improvement.

ReplyQuote
(@goodvichunting)
Reputable Member

Hey Mate, Introspection can sometimes be harsh. Play for a friend who has never heard you play. To your surprise, he/she will be amazed.

And try playing everyday, even for 20 mins.

Latest addition: Cover of "Don't Panic" by Coldplay
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=502670

ReplyQuote
(@skiljfhn)
Topic starter