Clear all

Good First Electric for an Intermediate Beginner

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@gatesofrocknroll)
Topic starter  

Hi Everyone!

I've been reading the forums here and everyone seems very helpful. I'm in the market for an electric guitar and would like to hear your opinions.

I've been playing acoustic for around nine months (an Epi DR-100 that I adore), and I'm looking for some variety. I play rhythm guitar in my church's praise band. I'm hoping to spend around $350-450, but am willing to go up to 500 if there is a genuine leap in quality.

I have rather small hands, and don't particularly like playing with a pick, if that makes a difference. I listen to pretty much anything, but when I write songs the style is closest to Jars of Clay or Jeremy Camp. Our lead guitarist plays an acoustic-electric, so something that would blend well with acoustics would be best.

I go to school basically in the middle of a corn field in Iowa, so I don't have easy access to a music store at the moment. I will be going to every music store in my hometown during spring break to try guitars and I'd appreciate any tips for trying out electrics specifically and for models/brand I should try out or avoid.

Thanks so much in advance! I decided to post here because you guys don't rip new players to shreds.

- Gels

(And just to warn you: I'm a girl so no wife jokes :) )

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

I dont have any advice but its your first post so I wanted to say WELCOME TO GN!! Jeremy Camp is awsome. Good luck on finding your guitar.

Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

First off , Welcome to GN gatesofrocknroll.
This is a topic that comes up frequently here, so you can find a lot of opinions with a simple search.

Assuming you've done that let's narrow the field of choice.