Clear all

Graduation Present Help

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@titus512)
Topic starter  

Hello All,
I've been playing now for about 4 years pretty much just as a hobby by myself. I'm graduating from FSU in August and my parents suggested a new guitar. My price range is between 6 and 7 hundred dollars. At first I was thinking no electronics and a big body Drednaught(I saw a Guild GAD50 for $622 that had a nice sound). But after a day I started to think about a cutaway instead, and when I went to the local shop one guy seemed to think I was nuts for not wanting electronics built into it.

Anyway what are the main differences between cutaways and other body styles? Will the Naught stop me from playing certaint things cause i'm just getting into to playing some small solo riffs.

Should I get electronics built in. (I have no knowledge about this either and if anyone knows a good article around here point me in that direction).

And finally any good brands for that price range? ( I did like the Guild and a Larrivee I saw). Please help the idea of a new guitar is burning a whole in my mind at night. Thanks and sorry for the long post.

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

The Guild model, or one with a similar number, that you're looking at comes as a cutaway and has a thing on it so you can plug it in. it doesn't actually have electronics built into it, but you can plug it in. It's around $700. I tried it out and almost bought it but got a Martin instead.

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

one guy seemed to think I was nuts for not wanting electronics built into it.

Well what does he know. If you would like electronics by all means get one with electronics, Otherwise do not. You have been playing for four years. You know wether you want or need them. I have an acoustic electric that I have had plugged in exactly once. If I ever had to replace it, I could care less if the new one had a pickup.

Anyway what are the main differences between cutaways and other body styles?