Notifications
Clear all

Greetings and Question About Chord Fingering

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bluebug)
Topic starter  

Hello and Happy New Year! I have been visiting here for a long time, but this is my first post. I know a lot of chords, both open and barre type. I also understand a lot about chord construction and scales, so I guess that I am an advanced beginner. I prefer fingerstyle playing and I am working my way through some of Little Brother's instructional material. I have one nagging problem with chord fingering that I am struggling with and I wonder if anyone here can help me. In many chord progressions involving an open G, it is more efficient to finger the chord 2-3-4. When I try this fingering, my ring finger wants to pull my pinky away from where it needs to be and I cannot seem to fret the first string when 2 and 3 are in position. Is there some specific exercise that will help train my fingers? I have average to slightly large size hands and I have plenty of hand strength. I see others play a 2-3-4 G with no problem, including people with small hands, so it must be something that I am missing in technique. Any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

First, welcome aboard! Hope to see you posting regularly.

To answer your question: yes, there are many exercises to strengthen and stretch your fingers. A quick search will reveal lots of them. Or, you can make them up yourself. Here is one to try:

Start as as high up the fretboard as needed, for example: play this on each string one string at a time, 12th fret with index, 14th fret with middle, 16th w/ ring, 18th w/ pinkie. Once that becomes easy, shift it down one fret - starting on fret 11. As you move closer to the nut, the frets are bigger and you will gradually stretch your fingers.

Try that one, or make one up yourself.

ReplyQuote
(@nexion)
Honorable Member

1) Welcome to GuitarNoise and Happy New Year to you as well.