Clear all

grrr..... barre chords .....!

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@logan5)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

My instructor has just started me on barre chords .... I must say that if there were any one thing as yet, that would make me give up this whole thing ... it's these stupid barre chords. All that pain (litterally) with almost nothing to gain.

I'm sure everyone's been there before, but seriously ... these things suck.

Thanks for letting me vent.

Logan5

There are 10 types of people in the world ... those who know binary ... and those who don't.

(@audioslaveaddict)
Estimable Member

Well hey it's good news that you have an teacher to help you along. My teacher was self taught and had tons of problems when he first started. I mean, there was no internet then, there were no lessons at all for him. It's almost funny to listen to him gripe about how easy guitarists have it these days. :D

Gun control is using both hands!!!

ReplyQuote
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member

All I can offer is encouragement to have patience and hang in there. They take a while, and there is no short cut. I have been working on barre chords all summer. I startd in late June and set a goal to be able to play the more common forms (A,Am,E,Em) by the end of the summer. Now here it is mid-August and it is finally starting to come together.

What kept me motivated is I picked a few songs that I really wanted to learn that had these chords in them and kept doing the changes to and from the barre chords over and over. It does take building some hand strength and I still tire quickly when I do a song that has all barre chords.

One thing that may help is to start with power chords, because they only involve 2-3 strings and are easier, then move on to barre forms incorporating more strings.