Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Brands ????????

23 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@tim_madsen)
Prominent Member

THe guitars I was looking at were priced at $1000.00 (Australian)

Like I said the price isn't the question rather the quality I am questioning , I basically just want to know out of them 3 brands which is the better quality ?

But I am getting the vibe it's not the brand or anything else it's sound and feel that a guitarist buys ..

Just wish I could actually say I am a guitarist ( maybe one day )

Dictionary meaning of a guitarist is : one who plays a guitar ...I practice and mess around ...

Twisted they are beauty's

One last question pick-ups

Active or passive ??? Whats that mean all have active pick-ups and the sales man told me thats what I need ( DO I ?)

Hilch :?:

Seagull is the most highly recommended brand of those three on these forums.
I'd go to the store and practice and mess around with them. Then I'd pick the one that sounded and felt best to me.
Basicly an active pick up has a battery powered preamp, I'd get the active.

Tim Madsen
Nobody cares how much you know,
until they know how much you care.

"What you keep to yourself you lose, what you give away you keep forever." -Axel Munthe

ReplyQuote
(@primeta)
Prominent Member

You really need to go play them both plugged and unplugged. Try a variety of Ovations because they come in different bowl depths. As much as I love Seagulls, Ray Davies was playing an Ovation and it sounded really good. Not sure what he was playing it through.
I know I get terrified playing in the store, but all you have to do is strum/ fingerpick a few chords and listen to the sound.

"Things may get a whole lot worse/ Before suddenly falling apart"
Steely Dan
"Look at me coyote, don't let a little road dust put you off" Knopfler

ReplyQuote
(@rocker)
Noble Member

play every guitar you can, you will know the one for you 8)

even god loves rock-n-roll

ReplyQuote
(@rik-anderson)
Estimable Member