Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Chords in Standard Notation

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@johntmssf)
Topic starter  

ok,so I just began learning guitar, and with my guitar that I bought came a beginner's guide, and I'm just beginning to learn chords.
My question is how do you read/play chords within standard notation, I know how to read music in standard notation (I've been in the school band playing tuba and baritone and trumpet for the past 6 years, but those instruments can't solo chords) I just don't know how to read and play the chords in standard notation... an example of what I'm seeing is:

____G7__________________ :note1: _____
________________ :note2: _____________
____ :note2: _________________________
__________________ :note2: ___________
_____________ :note2: ________________

An answer to my problem would be deeply appreciated, thanks.

(@alangreen)

What you'll see is the notes you need to play lined up vertically, and standard notation gives you all the timing and duration info you need too.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

As Alan said, chords are written on the same stem - one note for each string.

In the example you posted, there's a chord symbol - G7. That's there for a rhythm guitarist to comp over your playing. There's a strong relationship between the melody of a tune and the harmony, so much of the time your notes will be part of the chord.

In a G7 chord you have four notes: G, B, D, and F. If you were strumming an open G7 chord, you'd be playing six notes - you'd have two G notes and two B notes (that's called 'doubling' in harmony, and it doesn't change the chord name). Your melody notes appear to be B, then F (or maybe E*), followed by D, G, and then F. In tab, it would work out this way: