Clear all

Guitar Fit

12 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@sansmerci)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Alright - this question's for my husband's benefit (rather than mine). I'm a bad influence and now he's taken up the guitar as well (also as a complete novice). We found one he really liked the look of (it's an older Washburn Idol series one) and each time he picks it up he complains of pains in his thumb/wrist and down the left arm. However, when he tries mine the problem is lessened somewhat - mine's a different model and the neck's slightly longer.

Obviously we don't want to waste money left right and centre but we do want to get him something he's comfortable with - does anyone else have experience of this problem or any suggestions. Are we best just going into a store and having him pick up a bunch of guitars and see how they feel (much as you try on shoes and walk up and down the store before buying)? Seems the problem is harder when you're a novice, not being so familiar with how to hold the instrument well and all that. Pity you can't take the guitars home for a little while to see if you get along with them.

Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

The neck size and shape are important issues. Usually people finds some troubles with "thin" necks. A friend of mine had a similar pain when he played one of those "shredder" guitars.

Also beginners apply too much strength and pressure to the strings. I guess this could be the main problem. He should perform some warming up exercises and try to rest his muscles from time to time. If he feels pain, he shouldn't play until he is recovered. And if he keeps feeling any pain... I'd visit to the doctors.

ReplyQuote
(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

You can also make sure you are using light gauge strings to start with.

Also, don't hold the neck too low - it looks good on rock stars, but holding it in a comfortable position is better for playing.