Skip to content
Guitar method books...

Notifications
Clear all

Guitar method books - can I play other songs?

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@tim0chen)
Topic starter  

So I'm a completely fresh beginner to the world of guitars, and I've decided to teach myself without a teacher. I purchased the Hal Leonard guitar method book as well as 'The Principles for Correct Practice for Guitar,' ready to jam some Beatles, Stairway to Heaven, whatever... only to open the book and find that it wants me to play Yankee Doodle and The Star-Spangled Banner and whatnot for probably the next year.

I'll say it straight up: I have no interest in playing Yankee Doodle. Don't get me wrong, I realize that I have to 'walk before I run,' and I'm willing to spend the majority of my time practicing chords/scales to maximize my improvement. But the whole reason I decided to get into guitar was to play stuff I like (Beatles, Hendrix, Radiohead, etc...). Unfortunately, it seems like the lessons taught in Hal Leonard go hand-in-hand with the lame (IMO :)) songs included, so I don't see how I can follow the lesson plan while playing my own choices of songs instead of the book's.

I want to learn guitar properly, which is why I spent money on instructional books rather than just jumping into tabs like the majority of my friends. Is there a way for me to do so while playing songs that are actually fun?

BTW - I'm well versed in music theory due to experience with the piano... are there any shortcuts I can take when learning the guitar due to this advantage (ie skipping a lot of Hal Leonard lessons and instead working on my technique more)?

Any input is much appreciated - thanks in advance!!

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

You can do both. Follow the Hal Leonard book, yes, play Yankee Doodle Dandy, etc.. You'll find that it gives you a good understanding of what the guitar is about. You'll be able to move faster than a raw beginner, because you already have music knowledge.