Clear all

Guitar picks

29 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@slowhand)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

What kind of gutiar picks do you guys think are the best for certain genres: Blues, jazz, rock, metal, and heavy metal.

When i say whats the best i mean size and weight of the pick, personally i use for every genre, since im just a newbie :D, Give me your thoughts and i will be satisfied

lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

there has been many threads like this
This one quite recently
http://forums.guitarnoise.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=39975&start=0

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

I don't think genre matters. It's just a matter of using a pick you're comfortable with. Type and thickness may change over time -- I know it has for me. But there are no standards.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

It is a subject that is raised every couple of months and the results are always the same. There is no "one size fits all" in Pickworld - everyone has a different opinion and many can't make their minds up and use several different picks (yes, I'm one of them :D ).

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@jase36)
Reputable Member

I have had lessons with two different teachers and both have tried to get me to use thick picks as they give better tone and are louder and say lighter picks cover up bad technique. I havent been able to get on with thick picks, it must be my poor technique :roll:

http://www.youtube.com/user/jase67electric

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Your preferences change. I've even noticed my instructor change pick types over the years.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.