Notifications
Clear all

guitar pro 5

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@jigbounce)
Topic starter  

Would this be a good program for a newbie? Can anyone give examples of how it helps beginners? The tutorial on the guitar pro website makes it look pretty complicated. I have been trying to play for a few months and seem to be going nowhere fast.

(@fluid)
Trusted Member

I've found this program invaluable. As a beginner I find it's great because you can easily download tracks from sites like Ultimate Guitar and then slow them down to a more manageable speed. You can take the song you're trying to learn and play along with the tab at half or quarter speed and then speed it up as you learn the song. It's really straight forward to use as well. I imagine that writing your own music might get complicated but for my purposes it's simple straightforward and effective.

ReplyQuote
(@razzlemacher)

As a beginner - one of the things that has really been working well for me is a metronome. If you feel you are going nowhere I strongly recommend getting hold of one and playing along with it. The software you mentioned may also help (sorry I haven't used it).

Say you can play a lead fragment smoothly and you'll feel satisfied with it. Satisfaction also leads to stagnation - what you need to do is pick up a metronome and play the same lead with the metronome. The metronome keeps increasing its pace and you have to keep up. It becomes quite challenging and encourages you to improve your playing ability.

It's just something that has been working out quite well for me otherwise I also tend to play a few chords for some songs and then get bored because it feels like there is no where to go. Lately I've learnt a lead fragment thats just 16 notes long but playing it consistently with a metronome is a different ballgame altogether.

Just so you know I have a Korg MA-30 from the Guitar Center. They said it was for $30 but gave it to me for $10 bucks cuz I told them I had no money :P