Guitar sounds different when in tune???

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@chrisc)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I've noticed something curious lately when I've been tuning my guitars that I want to see if anybody else has seen.

I have a Yamaha FG700S acoustic and a Fender Squier "Fat Strat," tuning sometimes with an ancient Korg GT-3 tuner and sometimes with the built-in tuner in Garageband. Both guitars are in standard tuning and I've been playing off-and-on for about three years or so.

Sometimes, and particularly on the first and second strings, when I get the string into tune, I not only can hear that the string is in the correct pitch, but something about the sound changes as well. It's like the character of the sound changes slightly, or perhaps the guitar gets just a little bit louder when the string hits the "sweet spot" of being on-pitch.

Is this something that other people has seen? Are guitars designed to somehow have the strings or body be sympathetic to standard tuning? Is this simply a psychoacoustic thing where I'm expecting the guitar to be in tune so I'm somehow deluding myself that the guitar is sounding better when I recognize the string to be in tune? Am I just getting wonky as I'm approaching middle age? (Perhaps buying a sports car will solve this problem nicely... :D )

Thanks,
Chris

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

My guess is that your ears are learning what "in tune" sounds like, and they get happy when they hear it

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@s1120)
Prominent Member

My guess is that your ears are learning what "in tune" sounds like, and they get happy when they hear it

I agree... I think your just starting to pickup on that sweet spot.

Paul B

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

HI Chris,

I know exactly what you mean. Maybe it's a Chris thing.... but I noticed the same thing,especially on the B and G strings. Not so much on the A, D and the lower E.