Notifications
Clear all

Guitar strings???

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@richclayton7)
Topic starter  

Hi, i've been learning to play guitar for about 9 months now, i have been learning on one of my friends old electric guitars. When he gave me the guitar i cleaned it up and re-stringed it because 2 were broken, my question is . . . .

How often should i change the strings, someone told me i should have changed them by now, is he right????

Thanks

(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

For most people yes. Some people (even some famous guitar players) don't change them unless they break but most people change them much more frequently than that. Some of it is going to depend on what sound you like, how much you play, how you play (lots of bends or hard strumming), is your sweat acidic, etc. I end up changing mine every month or so on my main electric (maybe 40 to 50 hours of playing time) and less frequently on my other guitars.

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Yeah, it's an individual thing, the strings on my Sigma D4 acoustic are over 20 years old and still sound great. :D

The strings on my Fender Strat are probably at least 3 years old, they still sound good to me too. I am a big string bender, I like my strings to be very broken-in. The only time I really change strings is when my guitar gets dirty and I take off all the strings so I can clean the guitar real well. Otherwise, I leave 'em on there forever, or until they break. :D

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@raistx)
Trusted Member

I usually change mine when they turn black. Also I have started learning lead and find slides much easier while the strings are a bit shiny.

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member