Clear all

Harmonics Confusion

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@tyler-n)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi guys a little question about harmonics?

I'm a little confused. Example in standard tuning.

Playing harmonics on the 1st open string E

on the 5th fret - would that be called a 5th Fret "A" harmonic
on the 9th fret - would that be called a 9th Fret "Db/C#" harmonic
on the 12th fret - would that be called a 12th Fret "E" harmonic

and so forth and so forth.

I'm very new to guitar and I just wanted to know if harmonics have note names?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TxmW-rIGFA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAvejpRYsQM
my idol

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Harmonics are called by their order in the harmonic chain. The open string is called the first harmonic or, more frequently, the fundamental. The harmonics are multiples of the fundamental frequency (e.g. 440Hz), so the 2nd harmonic is 2 times the fundamental (e.g. 880Hz), the 3rd harmonic is 3 times the fundamental (e.g. 1320Hz) and so on.

In terms of intervals:
2nd harmonic - 12th fret: octave above open string
3rd harmonic - 7th or 19th fret: Octave plus a perfect fifth above open string
4th harmonic - 5th or 24th fret: Two octaves above open string
5th harmonic - 4th, 9th, or 16th fret: two octaves plus four semitones above open string

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@steve-0)
Noble Member

Just to add to what greybeard said, harmonics on guitar are VERY rarely called by their note names: generally they are just referred to as "5th fret harmonics", etc.

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

That's only true of guitarists who don't read standard notation. Readers are very comfortable with playing an "A harmonic", because that's how it's written.