Notifications
Clear all

having trouble playing the F chord

16 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@don_ho89)
Topic starter  

i just started playing about a week ago and while trying to learn Plush i hit a big rut... I cannot play the F chord. I use my index finger to hold all of the notes on the first fret, and my other fingers to do the rest. But whenever I play it, it souds horrible and rattles. I figured it was cus i wasnt holding them hard enough, but no matter how hard i push, it still rattles. What am I doing wrong?

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,

Exactly the same thing happened to me - and pretty much all the other beginners I've met so far.

A good friend told me she used to learn the guitar. When I asked her why she stopped, she just scowled and said "F!".

So you've got plenty of company. :wink: It will probably take a while before you really nail it. Just hang in there. :)

You might find it easier to just hold the two highest strings (E and B) with your index finger, instead of trying the full bar. Then don't play the bass E string. The fifth string (A) is probably optional too, depending on the sound you want.

There are a number of ways to play F - with a full bar at the first fret; partial bar covering two or more strings only; using the middle and ring fingers on the G and D strings; using middle, ring and pinky on G, A & D, and so on. Find the one you feel most comfortable with and like the sound of.

Good luck. :)

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to Guitar Noise.
Full Barre chords are hard to learn and most people have trouble with them.
Practice the same chord shape up the neck farther, around the 5th fret or so. the strings are aesier to push down there and slowly work your way back down the neck.
An alternative to the full barre is a mini barre version of the F on the top 4 strings
XX3211 and another easy alternate voicing XX3210

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member